Toppers Net Seven On All-Conference


Seven Hillsboro High School players, along with five players from the Gillespie/Litchfield co-op team, were among those honored with all-conference accolades by the soccer coaches of the South Central Conference this year.

Comprised of three teams, this year’s all-conference list featured 35 players from eight different programs, with Southwestern opting out of boys soccer this spring. Of those 35, 12 were seniors, 11 were juniors and six each were from the freshman and sophomore classes.

One of those 12 seniors was Hillsboro’s Shaw Riggs, who was one of three Toppers to earn first team honors. One of four goalkeepers selected, Riggs earned a first team nod for the second year in a row.

Both of Riggs’ teammates on the first team were also repeat selections. Junior Devin Speiser was a second team pick last year, while junior Ethan Lentz was a first team pick in 2019 and a third team selection in 2018.

Litchfield junior Jeremiah Yakana was also a first team pick for the Miners. Like Lentz, Yakana has been an all-conference selection three times, with a first team nod in 2019 and a second team slot in 2018.

In addition to the Montgomery County representatives, Carlinville juniors Trieton Park (third team in 2018 and first team in 2019) and Levi Yudinski (second team in 2018 and 2019) and Greenville senior Tyler Rieke (third team in 2018 and second team in 2019) were also repeat selections on the first team.

First time picks on the first team included Staunton senior Drake Rantanen and freshman Hunter Rantanen, Carlinville sophomore Asher Barbre and Pana senior Nikko Pierce.

On the second team, Hillsboro junior Ayden Brewer and sophomore Adison Pollard earned their first nominations, as did Litchfield’s Nate Fetter, a sophomore for the Gillespie/Litchfield team, and Cameron Crowe, a junior and the Miners’ keeper.

Senior Austin Martin of Roxana would also be on the second team, marking his third appearance on the all-conference list after earning first team honors last year and third team honors as a sophomore.

Others on the second team included Staunton seniors Mark Masinelli, Max Fairman and Jacob Futrell, Carlinville senior Caden Barkley and sophomore Ian Bethard, Pana senior Lane Funemann and Vandalia senior Cody Stewart.

Montgomery County underclassmen continued to have a presence on the third team, with Hillsboro junior Matt Page and sophomore Will Christian joining Gillespie/Litchfield junior Spenser Hoehl and freshman Camden Quarton on the list.

Only one of the 12 players on the third team, Staunton’s Joe Haenel, would be seniors, with five freshmen on the list. Joining Quarton were freshmen Lucas Field of Greenville, Will Meyer and Gavin Norwood of Carlinville and J.J. Pauley of Pana.

Also on the team were  junior Matthew Sievers of Staunton, sophomore Brody Harris of Carlinville and junior Kurstiana Sachan of Vandalia.

Hillsboro’s seven selections would be tied with Staunton for the  second most behind the eight secured by Carlinville, who shared the SCC title with Hillsboro and Gillespie/Litchfield. The Miners had the fourth most selections with five.

The other four teams would combine for eight honorees as Pana had four, Greenville and Vandalia had two each and Roxana had one.

South Central Conference

2021 All-Conference

Boys Soccer

First Team: Devin Speiser, Jr. - Hillsboro; Ethan Lentz, Jr. - Hillsboro; Jeremiah Yakana, Jr. - Gillespie/Litchfield; Tyler Rieke, Sr. - Greenville; Drake Rantanen, Sr. - Staunton; Hunter Rantanen, Fr. - Staunton; Trieton Park, Jr. - Carlinville; Levi Yudinski, Jr. - Carlinville; Asher Barbre, So. - Carlinville; Nikko Pierce, Sr. - Pana.

Second Team: Adison Pollard, So. - Hillsboro; Ayden Brewer, Jr. - Hillsboro; Nate Fetter, So. - Gillespie/Litchfield; Mark Masinelli, Sr. - Staunton; Jacob Futrell, Sr. - Staunton; Ian Bethard, So. - Carlinville; Caden Barkley, Sr. - Carlinville; Lane Funemann, Sr. - Pana; Cody Stewart, Sr. - Vandalia; Austin Martin, Sr. - Roxana.

Third Team: Will Christian, So. - Hillsboro; Matt Page, Jr. - Hillsboro; Spenser Hoehl, Jr. - Gillespie/Litchfield; Camden Quarton, Fr. - Gillespie/Litchfield; Lucas Field, Fr. - Greenville; Matthew Sievers, Jr. - Staunton; Joe Haenel, Sr. - Staunton; Gavin Norwood, Fr. - Carlinville; Brody Harris, So. - Carlinville; J.J. Pauley, Fr. - Pana; Kurstiana Sachan, Jr. - Vandalia.

Goalies: 1st Team - Shaw Riggs, Sr. - Hillsboro; 2nd Team - Cameron Crow, Jr. - Gillespie/Litchfield and Max Fairman, Sr. - Staunton; 3rd Team - Will Meyer, Fr. - Carlinville.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here