Fourteen From County Make SCC Soccer All-Conference


Fourteen players from Montgomery County, including four first-teamers, earned all-conference accolades from the coaches of the South Central Conference after the completion of the 2021 fall season.

Eight of the 11 players on the first team were honorees in the past as well, including Hillsboro’s Ethan Lentz. Lentz joined Carlinville’s Trieton Park as the newest members in an exclusive group of players who earned first team all-conference each of their four years. Carlinville’s Levi Yudinsky nearly made it three four-time first teamers, finishing his career with first team honors as a freshman, junior and senior, and second team accolades as a sophomore.

Hillsboro’s Devin Speiser made the first team for the second year in a row, after earning second team honors as a sophomore. Teammate Adison Pollard earned his first first-team spot this year after taking second team honors as a sophomore last season.

The other repeat selections were Carlinville goalkeeper Will Meyer, who was a third team pick last year as a freshman, Carlinville junior Asher Barbre, who was a first team pick last year, and Staunton senior Matthew Sievers, who was a third team honoree last year.

Litchfield sophomore Drake Gasperson was one of three first-teamers to earn all-conference for the first time, joining Pana senior Colin Paschall and Greenville senior Dima Powell.

More repeat selections were on the 11-player second team, including Litchfield’s Cameron Crow and Hillsboro’s Ayden Brewer, Will Christian and Matt Page. Crow was also a second team selection last season as a junior, while Brewer earned his third second team spot, having named as a sophomore and junior as well. Both Page and Christian were third team picks in the spring of 2021.

Hillsboro senior Gavin Matoush was one of two seniors to earn all-conference for the first time with a second team slot, joining Pana’s Connor Stalets. Other first teamers were Carlinville juniors Tyler Summers and Matt Dunn, Staunton junior Adam Overby and Greenville sophomore Ivan Powell.

On the third team, Litchfield’s Nate Fetter and Carlinville’s Ian Bethard earned third team honors as juniors after being a second team picks last season, while Litchfield senior Spencer Hoehl earned third team honors for his second straight season.

Hillsboro’s sophomore trio of Mitchell Lowe, Deklan Riggs and Logan Murray were all first time honorees on the third team and were joined by Staunton sophomore Victor Buehler, Staunton junior Ashton Copeland, Pana senior Austin Karbach and Vandalia senior Jayce Murray.

In the overall standings, Hillsboro took the championship for the third consecutive year, with Carlinville the runner-up at 5-1. Litchfield and Staunton tied for third at 3-3, followed by Pana (2-4), Greenville (1-4) and Vandalia (0-5).

South Central Conference Boys Soccer 2021 Standings

Overall SCC GF GA

Hillsboro 13-7-2 6-0 56 27

Carlinville 18-3-0 5-1 86 14

Litchfield 5-13-1 3-3 30 72

Staunton 6-15-0 3-3 23 56

Pana 4-10-2 2-4 26 26

Greenville 4-14-1 1-4 10 54

Vandalia 0-13-0 0-5 2 128

South Central Conference

All-Conference Team

Boys Soccer

First Team: Ethan Lentz, Sr. - Hillsboro; Devin Speiser, Sr. - Hillsboro; Adison Pollard, Jr. - Hillsboro; Trieton Park, Sr. - Carlinville; Levi Yudinsky, Sr. - Carlinville; Asher Barbre, Jr. - Carlinville; Drake Gasperson, So. - Litchfield; Matthew Sievers, Sr. - Staunton; Colin Paschall, Sr. - Pana; Dima Powell, Sr. - Greenville; Goalkeeper: Will Meyer, So. - Carlinville.

Second Team: Ayden Brewer, Sr. - Hillsboro; Will Christian, Jr. - Hillsboro; Gavin Matoush, Sr. - Hillsboro; Matt Page, Sr. - Hillsboro; Gavin Norwood, So. - Carlinville; Tyler Summers, Jr. - Carlinville; Matt Dunn, Jr. - Carlinville; Adam Overby, Jr. - Staunton; Connor Stalets, Sr. - Pana; Ivan Powell, So. - Greenville; Goalkeeper: Cameron Crow, Sr. - Litchfield.

Third Team: Deklan Riggs, So. - Hillsboro; Logan Murray, So. - Hillsboro; Ian Bethard, Jr. - Carlinville; Paeton Brown, So. - Carlinville; Nate Fetter, Jr. - Litchfield; Spencer Hoehl, Sr. - Litchfield; Victor Buehler, So. - Staunton; Ashton Copeland, Jr. - Staunton; Austin Karbach, Sr. - Pana; Jayce Murray, Sr. - Vandalia; Goalkeeper: Mitchell Lowe, So. - Hillsboro


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here