Topper Soccer Honor Award Winners At Banquet


On Monday night, Oct. 28, the Hillsboro High School boys soccer team honored their group as well as put a wrap on one of their most successful seasons in program history with the annual awards banquet held in the HHS cafeteria. 

Besides a perfect 8-0 record in conference play that won them the program’s fourth SCC title, the squad finished just one win short of tying the school record for most wins in a single season going 16-4-2 on the year. Those accomplishments were recognized as well as several individual awards were handed out including all-conference recognition and awards voted on by the team themselves.

Those receiving numerals for the class of 2023 were freshmen Josh Ray, Adison Pollard, and Will Christian. Receiving numerals for the class of 2021 was junior Shaw Riggs and receiving numerals for the class of 2020 was senior Jack Combs.

Those receiving their first ever varsity letter for soccer were freshmen Adison Pollard and Will Christian, juniors Frankie Passariello and Shaw Riggs, and seniors Charles Babcock, Jack Combs, Wes Stockstill and Ethan Blankenship.

Returning letter winners receiving gold bars were sophomores Ethan Lentz, Ayden Brewer, Devin Speiser, Kennon Beecher, and Gavin Matoush. Returning senior letter winners were Hunter Beecher, Jake Holcomb, Tyler Watson, Josh Bauman, Ian Roach, Joe Mattson, and Dalton Greenwood.

Those receiving awards as voted on by their teammates were “Most Improved For Last Season to This Season” awarded to Wes Stockstill and “Most Improved From Beginning of the Season to End of the Season” awarded to Jack Combs. 

The “Hustle and Heart” award was given to Josh Bauman and the “Toughness Award” was awarded to Ian Roach. Tyler Watson and Jake Holcomb were both awarded “Defensive Player of the Year” and “Offensive Player of the Year” honors went to Joe Mattson. The “Coach’s Award” for being an exemplary teammate went to Dalton Greenwood. Finally, MVP honors went to Josh Bauman.

Those receiving All-Conference recognition were first team all-conference Joe Mattson, Josh Bauman and Ethan Lentz. Shaw Riggs was awarded first team all-conference honors at goal keeper. Second team all-conference recognition was awarded to Jake Holcomb, Ayden Brewer and Devin Speiser. Those receiving third team all-conference nods were Tyler Watson and Dalton Greenwood.

Hillsboro Boys Soccer 2019 Season Statistics

Player - Goals

Joe Mattson 17

Ethan Lentz 14

Josh Bauman 12

Gavin Matoush 4

Frankie Passariello 4

Dalton Greenwood 3

Will Christian 2

Wes Stockstill 2

Adison Pollard 1

Ian Roach 1

Kennon Beecher 1

61 Goals Scored          22 Goals Allowed

Shutouts = 13 (Shaw Riggs)

Held Scoreless - 3


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment