Soccer Toppers Hand Out Post-Season Awards


After wrapping up one of their most successful seasons in program history, a season where they earned a third straight SCC Conference title and an IHSA Regional Championship, the Hillsboro High School boys soccer team handed out its post-season awards at their annual banquet Monday night.  

Players earning varsity letters for the first time were freshmen Mitchell Cunningham and Nico Clark, sophomores Elias Gutierrez, Hunter Payne, Kyle Holcomb, Chase Saathoff, and Mitchell Lowe, and senior Keegan Murray.  

Those who earned a second, third, or even fourth varsity letters were sophomores Griffen Hughes, Logan Murray, and Deklan Riggs, juniors Will Christian and Adison Pollard, and seniors Ethan Lentz, Devin Speiser, Ayden Brewer, Matt Page, and Gavin Matoush.

The squad also handed out its team awards as voted on by the team itself with “Most Improved From Last Year to This Year” going to both Gavin Matoush and Chase Saathoff, “Most Improved From Beginning of the Season to the End of the Season” going to sophomore Ketch Mills, “Rookie of the Year” going to Mitchell Lowe, “Hustle and Heart” going to Will Christian, “Toughness” going to Ethan Lentz, “The Coach’s Award” going to both Matt Page and Ayden Brewer, “Defensive Player of the Year” going to Devin Speiser, “Offensive Player of the Year” going to Adison Pollard, and “Most Valuable Player” going to both Pollard and Lentz.

The orange and black also recognized their ten All-Conference recipients Third Teamers Mitchell Lowe, Deklan Riggs, and Logan Murray, Second Teamers Ayden Brewer, Matt Page, Gavin Matoush, and Will Christian, and First Teamers Devin Speiser, Ethan Lentz, and Adison Pollard.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here