Seven 'Skins Honored By Prairie State Conference


Seven Nokomis High School basketball players were among those honored with all-conference recognition by the basketball coaches of the Prairie State Conference.

Five of the honorees came from the Nokomis girls basketball team, including Audrey Sabol and Kristen Stauder as first team picks.

Sabol just missed averaging a double-double on the season as she put in 11.3 points and 9.3 rebounds per contest for Nokomis. The sophomore also led her team in blocks with 26 and was second in steals with 22.

Stauder had a stellar senior year, averaging 7.5 points and 5.3 boards per game after missing almost all of last year due to injury. In addition to being second in scoring and rebounding for Nokomis, Stauder also led the team in steals with 26.

Sophomores Addison Dangbar and Hailey Engelman and senior Mia Fesser were honorable mention selections for the 13-player list. Engelman led the team in assists with 35 and was third on the team in scoring with 5.5 points per game, while Dangbar was fourth with 5.4. Fesser was second in assists with 32 and averaged 4.8 points per contest.

For the boys, senior Seth Johnson and junior Jake Johnson were honorable mentions for the 11-player all-conference squad.

Seth Johnson was second on the team in scoring with 9.1 points per game and first in assists (54) and steals (35).  Jake Johnson was just behind Seth in points at 8.8 points per game and led Nokomis in rebounds with 5.9 per contest.

Prairie State Conference

2020-21 All-Conference

Girls Basketball

First Team: Hannah Allen, Sr. - East Alton-Wood River; Emily Johnson, Fr. - East Alton-Wood River; Charlize Luehmann, Sr. - Father McGivney; Rachel Maller, Sr. - Father McGivney; Anna McKee, Sr. - Father McGivney; Emma Daniel, Sr. - Metro-East Lutheran; Audrey Sabol, So. - Nokomis; Kristen Stauder, Sr. - Nokomis.

Honorable Mention: Emma Martinez, So. - Father McGivney; Caitlyn Reynolds, Sr. - Metro-East Lutheran; Addison Dangbar, So. - Nokomis; Hailey Engelman, So. - Nokomis; Mia Fesser, Sr. - Nokomis.

Prairie State Conference

2020-21 All-Conference

Boys Basketball

First Team: A.J. Smith, Sr. - Metro-East Lutheran; Demarcus Bean, Jr. - Metro-East Lutheran; Zion Tucker, So. - Metro-East Lutheran; Trent Markezich, Jr. - Mt. Olive; Jackson Rodgers, So. - Father McGivney; Evan Merritt, Sr. - East Alton-Wood River; Antonio Hardin, Jr. - East Alton-Wood River; Grant Burch, So., - Bunker Hill; Devon Ralston Sr., - Bunker Hill.

Honorable Mention: Seth Johnson, Sr. - Nokomis; Jake Johnson, Jr. - Nokomis.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here