Nominations Now Being Accepted For Hillsboro Athletics Hall Of Fame


Nominations are now being accepted for the Hillsboro High School Athletic Hall of Fame. Anyone who would like to nominate a player, coach or team should list the reasons for the nomination (statistics, accomplishments, etc.) in a letter to Hillsboro Athletic Director Aaron Duff. 

Letters can be emailed to or sent to Duff’s attention at Hillsboro High School, 522 East Tremont, Hillsboro, IL 62049, and should be received by July 19.

Stan Wallace (1950) was the first Hiltopper athlete inducted into the hall of fame in 1995, with Mary Beth Zimmerman (1979) following in 1999. Individual inductees followed in 2003 with Ed Dahler (1946), 2004 with Harold Osborn (1918), 2006 with Arthur Leroy “Buzz” Ott (1949), 2009 with Tony Parola  (1962) and 2010 Mark Frailey (1969).

In 2014, six individuals and two teams were inducted into the hall of fame. Members of the 2006 state champion Hillsboro girls basketball team and 1914 state champion Hillsboro boys basketball team were enshrined alongside Brooke (Beeler) Lynch (2007), Maria Pretnar (2006), Matt Hughes (1992), Pat McClurg (1925), Tony Corso (1935) and Walter Westbrook (1954).

Two more teams and eight individuals were enshrined in 2015. Members of the 1949 state runner-up boys basketball team and the 1982 state runner-up baseball team were joined by Adam Beeler (2003), Bertie Smith (1926), Brian Pesko (1980), Cecil Hart (1954), Charles Grantham (1923), Irwin Little (1923), Mark Hughes (1992) and Shane Cress (1998).

The most recent entries to the hall of fame came in 2018, when three teams and nine individuals were added. The 1985 Hillsboro football team and the back-to-back state runner-up girls cross country teams of 1990 and 1991 were joined by Nicolo Casarta (2003), Jeremy Connor (1996), Randy McCoy (1974), Tyler Shelton (1997), Hope (Schulte) Pankau (2007), Dale Wills (1973), Rich Stewart (1969), Dyke Buerkett (1978) and Coach Dave Ball.

Biographies on the inductees of the Hillsboro High School Athletic Hall of Fame can be found online at


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here