Lancers Claim MSM Conference Crown


The Lincolnwood boys golf team put four players in the top six to pick up their fourth straight conference championship on Wednesday, Sept. 9, at Edgewood Golf Club in Auburn.

The Lancers would shoot a 344 as a team to beat South County by 21 strokes and Mt. Olive by 87. Dain Richie would take medalist honors for the match as the Viper senior shot a 2-over-par 73 to take the top spot by ten strokes.

Four of the next five individual placers belonged to the Lancers, including the second, third and fourth place finishers.

Senior Devin Brown earned runner-up honors with an 83 on the day. Brown made five pars, three bogeys and a double bogey on the front nine for a 5-over-par 41, then finished the round with a 7-over-par 42, including pars on the 13th and 17th holes and a birdie on the par-4 16th hole.

Brown’s birdie would be one of three on the day for the Lancers. Nate Brockmeyer would have the other two, coming on the seventh and 17th holes, as the Lincolnwood sophomore finished with an 84 to take third place overall.

Michael Jones would be three strokes behind Brockmeyer with an 87 after posting six pars on the day, while Braxton Schmedeke finished the day with a 90 as the two seniors took fourth and sixth respectively.

Michael Graham and Will Jenkins would also play for the Lancers, who were the only team to put all six players under 100 for the 18-hole tournament. Graham shot a 95 with three pars on the day, while Jenkins shot a 96, also scoring three pars.

With the conference crown theirs again, the Lancers will be off until next Monday, Sept. 14, when they are back at Edgewood to face Auburn, South County and North Mac.

September 9 at Auburn

MSM Conference 


Edgewood Golf Club - Par 71

Boys Team Results: Lincolnwood-Morrisonville 344, South County 365, Mt. Olive 431.

Medalist: Dain Richie (SC) 73.

Lincolnwood-Morrisonville (344) - Devin Brown 83, Nate Brockmeyer 84, Michael Jones 87, Braxton Schmedeke 90, Michael Graham 95, Will Jenkins 96.

South County (365) - Dain Richie 73, Tanner Frye 89, Will Ross 99, Ben Hermes 104, Bradley Ott 104, Isaac Carter 113.

Mt. Olive (431) - Blake Dickerson 97, Trent Markezich 108, Owen Scheller 113, Dalton Brunnworth 113, Bryce Mayer 118, Adam Knowles 120.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment