Hiltopper Wrestling Celebrates Seniors


It was senior night for the Hillsboro High School wrestling team on Tuesday, May 25, and one of the two honorees celebrated with a pair of wins as the Toppers took on Jerseyville and Lanphier.

Marshall Hughes, who was honored prior to the matches with teammate Andrew Law (who is out for the year due to injury), took a pair of wins as the Toppers defeated Lanphier 36-18 and fell to Jerseyville 40-21.

Hughes picked up a forfeit win against Lanphier, one of five the Toppers collected against the Lions, and pinned Jerseyville’s Tyler Dirksmeyer with 37 seconds left in the third period.

The win over Dirksmeyer was one of four wins Hillsboro scored against Jerseyville, including a forfeit victory at 120 pounds from Keegan Murray. Junior Magnus Wells picked up a pin at 220 pounds with 26.7 seconds remaining, while Griffin Hughes got a 9-8 decision victory with a last second takedown in the third period.

In the Lanphier match Keegan Murray had the Toppers’ only contested victory, pinning Willie Hubbert with 1:33 to go in the 113 pound match. In addition to Marshall Hughes, Ben Huber, Matt Page, Griffin Hughes and Magnus Wells also collected forfeit wins in the victory over the Lions.


In Hillsboro’s previous home meet on May 13, the Toppers faced some of the top teams in the state in Vandalia, Auburn and PORTA. Unfortunately, they would come up short against all three, losing to Vandalia 54-21, Auburn 60-18 and PORTA 57-24.

The Toppers would go 4-6 in contested matches against Vandalia as they gave up 18 points in forfeits. Keegan Murray (113), Reese Morford (182) and Magnus Wells (220) all picked up wins by fall, while Griffin Hughes scored a 9-4 decision victory at 120 pounds.

Hillsboro would go 3-7 in their 10 contested matches against Auburn, with the Trojans also taking 18 free points from forfeits. Both Magnus and Zander Wells scored victories by fall at 220 and 152 pounds respectively, while Marshall Hughes picked up a first round pin at 195 pounds.

The Toppers scored four pins in their ten contested matches with PORTA, with the wins coming at 113 and 120 pounds from Keegan Murray and Griffin Hughes and at 195 and 220 from Marshall Hughes and Magnus Wells. All four pins came in the first period, ranging from 34 seconds to one minute and 57 seconds.

The Toppers will be on the road for the rest of the season, starting with a trip to Rochester on May 27, to face the Rockets and Carlinville. After that, they head to PORTA on May 29, to take on the Bluejays again and Springfield.

May 25 at Hillsboro

Hillsboro 36, Lanphier 18

Forfeits: Hillsboro won by forfeit at 120, 126, 138, 195, 220; Double forfeit at 106, 132, 145, 160, 285.

Jerseyville 40, Hillsboro 21

Forfeits: Jerseyville won by forfeit at 145; Hillsboro won by forfeit at 113; Double forfeit at 106, 160, 285.

May 13 at Hillsboro

Vandalia 54, Hillsboro 21

Forfeits: Vandalia won by forfeit at 145, 160, 285; Double forfeit at 106.

Auburn 60, Hillsboro 18

Forfeits: Auburn won by forfeit at 145, 160, 285; Double forfeit at 106.

PORTA 57, Hillsboro 24

Forfeits: PORTA won by forfeit at 106, 145, 160, 285.

Hillsboro Results

Logan Murray: lost to Czaia (J) by maj. dec. 10-2 at 113.

Keegan Murray: def. Will Hubbert (L) by fall at :37 at 113; won by forfeit vs. Jerseyville at 120; def. Josie Womack (V) by fall at 1:07 at 113; lost to Anthony Ruzic (A) by fall at 1:37 at 113; def. Jaden Frainer (P) by fall at 1:57 at 113.

Griffin Hughes: won by vs. Lanphier at 120; def. Martinez (J) by dec. 9-8 at 126; def. Taylor Dothager (V) by dec. 9-4 at 120; lost to Dalton King (A) by fall at 5:10 at 120; def. Jordan Reed (P) by fall at :34 at 120.

Ben Huber: won by forfeit vs. Lanphier at 126; lost to Ashlock (J) by fall at 1:08 at 132; lost to Jarek Wehrle (V) by fall at 1:04 at 126; lost to Gage Lopez (A) by fall at :36 at 126; lost to Clayton Miller (P) by fall at :45 at 126.

Matt Page: won by forfeit vs. Lanphier at 138; lost to Waltz (J) by fall at 3:37 at 138; lost to Owen Miller (V) by fall at 1:46 at 132; lost to Dresden Grimm (A) by fall at 3:51 at 132; lost to Hayden Clary (P) by dec. 10-4 at 132.

Tanner Clayton: lost to Colby Willhite (A) by default at 138; lost to Blake Cagle (P) by fall at 3:20 at 138. 

Zander Wells: lost to Brady Richards (L) by fall at 1:13 at 152; lost to Cox (J) by fall at 2:49 at 152; lost to Kyle Miller (V) by fall at 1:03 at 152; def. Dominic Pecoraro (A) by fall at 3:46 at 152; lost to Jake Sinclair (P) by fall at 1:47 at 152.

Jaben Compton: lost to Zach Acres (L) by fall at 1:57 at 170; lost to McGuire (J) by fall at 3:40 at 170; lost to Ryan Kaiser (V) by fall at 1:24 at 170; lost to Skylar Fay (A) by fall at 5:43 at 170; lost to Bryar Lane (P) by fall at 1:28 at 170.

Reese Morford: lost to Gabe Orosco (L) by fall at 1:52 at 182; lost to Garaza (J) by fall at 1:57 at 182; def. Justin Proctor (V) by fall at 1:33 at 182; lost to Timmy Stewart (A) by fall at 1:44 at 182; lost to Blayk Reed (P) by fall at 3:11 at 182.

Marshall Hughes: 195 - won by forfeit vs. Lanphier; def. Dirksmeyer (J) by fall at 5:23 at 195; lost to Tiler Worker (V) by fall at :33 at 195; def. Hank Rhodes (A) by fall at 1:04 at 195; def. Dom Barner (P) by fall at :53 at 195.

Magnus Wells: won by forfeit vs. Lanphier at 220; def. Chin (J) by fall at 1:34 at 220; def. Eric Barenfanger (V) by fall at 1:34 at 220; def. Grant Dobson (A) by fall at 1:02 at 220; def. Cole Klauzer (P) by fall at 1:51 at 220.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here