Haggard, Hiltoppers Hold Own At Taylorville


The Hillsboro boys golf team tested themselves against some of the area’s best 2A competition on Saturday, Oct. 3, at the Taylorville Invitational at Lakeshore Golf Course in Taylorville.

The Toppers would finish tenth in the 13-team field, but were just four strokes out of sixth and were the second highest 1A team in the event.

Hillsboro would shoot a 368 on the day, a stroke behind Glenwood and Lincoln, who were eighth and ninth. Williamsville, the best of the small school entries, was seventh with a 365, while Effingham was sixth with a 364.

The top five consisted of Jacksonville (340), Quincy Notre Dame (339), Mt. Zion (339), Quincy Senior High (333) and Sacred Heart-Griffin, who took the top spot with a 318.

The Toppers didn’t just prove their worth in the team ranks, they made an impact in the individual standings as well.

Junior Dom Haggard was the highest placing Class 1A player at the tournament, shooting an 82 to tie Brady Walker for the ninth best score of the day. 

Dillon Smail would break into the top 50 with a 92, while Tad Daniels narrowly missed that benchmark with a 96 to place 52nd. Drake Vogel would be just behind his teammate with a 98, good for 57th place, while Devin Speiser was in 62nd with a 101. Senior Shaw Riggs would close out the lineup for the Toppers, shooting a 117 to finish 71st.

At Carlinville

Hillsboro’s final match before the Taylorville Invitational took place on Oct. 1, in Carlinville, with the Hiltoppers taking a win over Carrollton and the host Cavaliers.

Carlinville’s Henry Kufa would shoot a 2-over-par 38 to take medalist honors in the match, but Hillsboro’s balance snuffed out that advantage and gave Hillsboro a 175-188 victory over the home team. Carrollton would be third on the night with a 219.

While Carlinville had the top player on the night, four of the next five best scores came from Hillsboro, with Mason Duckles sneaking in with a 46 as the Cavies’ number two.

Tad Daniels led the Toppers with a 40, followed by Dillon Smail with a 42. Preston Lyerla would tie Duckles for the fourth best score with a 46, while Tad Daniels finished out the scoring for Hillsboro with a 11-over 47.

Dom Haggard and Devin Spenser would have had scoring rounds for either of their opponents, shooting rounds of 50 and 53 on the day.

With the wins, Hillsboro upped their record to 15-3 on the season. They will start the postseason on Tuesday, Oct. 6, at the Mt. Olive Regional at Timber Lakes Golf Course in Staunton. The top two teams and top four individuals will move on to the Zeigler-Royalton Sectional, which will be at the Franklin County Country Club in West Frankfort on Tuesday, Oct. 13.

October 1 at Carlinville

Carlinville Country Club - Par 36

Boys Team Results: Hillsboro 175, Carlinville 188, Carrollton 219.

Medalist: Henry Kufa (C) 38.

Hillsboro (175) - Drake Vogel 40, Dillon Smail 42, Preston Lyerla 46, Tad Daniels 47, Dom Haggard 50, Devin Speiser 53.

Carlinville (188) - Henry Kufa 38, Mason Duckles 46, Sam Quarton 50, Gabe Barbre 54, Matt Reiher 56, Aaron Wills 56.

Carrollton (219) - Max Arnett 53, Travis Evans 53, Jackson Cotener 54, Brailyn Rhodes 59.

Records: Hillsboro (15-3).

October 3 at Taylorville

Taylorville Invitational

Lakeshore Golf Course - Par 72

Team Results: 1. Sacred Heart-Griffin 318; 2. Quincy 333; 3. Mt. Zion 339; 4. Quincy Notre Dame 339; 5. Jacksonville 340; 6. Effingham 364; 7. Williamsville 365; 8. Glenwood 367; 9. Lincoln 367; 10. Hillsboro 368; 11. Rochester 389; 12. Taylorville 407; 13. Greenview 422.

Individual Top Ten: 1. Alex McCulla (Quincy Notre Dame) 71; 2. Brady Kaufmann (Jacksonville) 77); 3. Carter Etheridge (Sacred Heart-Griffin) 79; 4. Cal Johnson (Sacred Heart-Griffin) 79; 5. Miles Roland (Sacred Heart-Griffin) 79; 6. Brent Hansen (Mt. Zion) 79; 7. Cameron Bergman (Quincy) 80; 8. Tyler Furkin (Sacred Heart-Griffin) 81; 9. Brady Walker (Quincy) 82; 10. Dominic Haggard (Hillsboro) 82.

Hillsboro (368) - 10. Dom Haggard 82; 39. Dillon Smail 92; 52. Tad Daniels 96; 57. Drake Vogel 98; 62. Devin Speiser 101; 71. Shaw Riggs 117.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here