Four File For County Office, 15 For Board


Four candidates have filed for nomination for three countywide offices up for election next year, and 15 candidates have filed for 11 available county board seats, according to information provided by Montgomery County Clerk Sandy Leitheiser.

The filing period that ended at 5 p.m. Monday, Dec. 2, created three contested races in the March 17 primary: three Republicans, incumbent Gene Miles, incumbent Chuck Graden, and Jim Havera, filed for nomination for two seats available in Montgomery County Board District 2; two Republicans, Phillip Speiser and Doug Donaldson, filed for one seat in District 3; and two Republicans, Kirby Furness and James Jones, filed for precinct committeeman in Irving.

Incumbent Bryant Hitchings (D) of Hillsboro and Andrew Affrunti (R) of Springfield filed for the office of state's attorney, creating a November rematch of the 2018 race for the office. Incumbent Holly Lemons (R) of Hillsboro filed for circuit clerk, and incumbent Randy Leetham (R) of Hillsboro filed for coroner.

Of the 15 candidates for Montgomery County Board, only seven are incumbents. In District 1, three have filed for nomination for two seats: Rickey Broaddus (D) of Raymond, incumbent Jeremy Jones (R) of Farmersville, and incumbent Connie Beck (R) of Litchfield.

In District 2, incumbent Gene Miles (R), Jim Havera (R), and incumbent Chuck Graden (R), all three of Nokomis, filed for two seats.

In District 3, Phillip Speiser (R) of Witt and Doug Donaldson (R) of Irving filed for nomination for one available seat.

Incumbent Jim Moore (D) of Hillsboro filed for one seat in District 4, and two candidates filed for two seats in District 5: incumbent Richard Wendel (D) and Russell Beason (R), both of Litchfield.

In District 6, Beverly McCoy (R) and Paul Sellers (D), both of Hillsboro, filed for one available seat, and in District 7, incumbent Timothy Fogle (D) and Andy Ritchie (R), filed for two available seats.

Four current board members did not file for reelection: Kirby Furness (R) in District 3, Glenn Savage (R) in District 5, Dennis McCammack (R) in District 6, and Glenn Bishop (R) in District 7.

The 34 candidates (19 Republican and 15 Democrat) who filed for precinct committee rep to be elected on March 17 follow.

Jim Allen (R), Bois D'Arc; Stephen Voyles (D), East Fork 1; Roberta Meyer (R), East Fork 2; Steven Traylor (D), East Fork 3; Bradford Ozee (R), East Fork 3; James Evans (D), Fillmore; Terry Richmond (R), Hillsboro 1; Paul Sellers (D), Hillsboro 2; Mark Hughes (R), Hillsboro 2; Dick James (R), Hillsboro 3; Beverly McCoy (R), Hillsboro 4; Jim Moore (D), Hillsboro 5; Jim Vazzi (R), Hillsboro 5; Kirby Furness (R), Irving; James Jones (R), Irving; Trever Loafman (D), Nokomis 3; Michael Glenn (D); Nokomis 4; Jim Havera, (R), Nokomis 4; Connie Beck (R), North Litchfield 1; Louis Lewey (D), North Litchfield 2; Timothy Fogle (D), North Litchfield 3; Curt Faas (R), North Litchfield 3; Ted Elizondo (D), North Litchfield 5; Chuck Napier (D), North Litchfield 6; Jeremy Jones (R), Pitman; Timothy Mizera (R), Raymond, Evelyn Lanter (D), South Litchfield 1; Bill Bergen (R), South Litchfield 1; Perry Jackson (D), South Litchfield 2; Marcia Sailsbury (R), South Litchfield 2; Richard Wendel (D), South Litchfield 4; Kenneth Gaffney (R), South Litchfield 4; Donna Yeske (R) Witt 1; Olin Clayton (D), Zanesville.

The March 17 primary will also nominate the federal offices of U.S. president, U.S. senator, U.S. representative in all 18 districts, state representatives in all 118 districts of the Illinois General Assembly, and judges (if required by vacancy), and elect Democratic and Republican presidential convention delegates.

Anyone needing further information about the upcoming elections may contact the county clerk and recorder's office at the Historic Courthouse in Hillsboro, by email at or call them at (217) 532-9530. Election information may also be retrieved from the county website at


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment