Five Earn All-Conference In Mohawks’ Final Year


Four members of the Morrisonville/Lincolnwood co-op baseball team earned all-conference honors in the 2020-2021 season as co-op prepares to switch to Lincolnwood in 2021-22.

Will Jenkins and John Wolf were both first team selections this past year, while Dominic Golitko, Michael Jones and Braden Whalen earned second team nods.

Jenkins was the team’s leading hitter with 26 hits in 79 plate appearances, good for a .356 batting average. The Lincolnwood junior also led the team in runs scored (22) and runs batted in (17), while committing just two errors in the field. On the mound Jenkins pitched 10.2 innings in seven appearances, striking out 14 of the 57 batters he faced.

Wolf was one of the Mohawks’ top pitchers this past season, striking out 56 and walking 11 in a team-best 43 innings pitched. He also posted an ERA of 3.91 and had four wins, which tied for the team lead. At the plate, the junior had 14 hits, seven runs scored and four RBIs.

While Jenkins and Wolf have one more year to go, Golitko and Jones finished up their careers with second team honors.

Golitko led the team in stolen bases with 23, one more than Whalen and four more than Jenkins. At the plate, he batted .339 with 21 runs scored and eight runs driven in.

Jones was another of the Mohawks’ top hurlers, leading the team with a .366 ERA and matching Wolf’s four wins. He was also second in strikeouts with 46 Ks on the year. At the plate, Jones batted .286 with 14 RBIs and six runs scored.

In addition to being second in steals, Whalen also batted .333 on the year and was third in runs scored, behind Jenkins and Golitko, with 17. He also had 12 RBIs (third most on the team) and had the Mohawks’ only triple.

Thirteen of the 19 players on this year’s team were seniors (7) or juniors (6). The final six were made up of four sophomores and two freshmen.

Morrisonville’s five honorees matched Pawnee for the most in the conference. Tri-City would be next with four, followed by Mt. Olive with three and Lutheran/Calvary with two.

With the switch to all high school co-ops to Lincolnwood, the 2020-2021 season was the last one at Memorial Field for the Mohawks. The move doesn’t close the book on Morrisonville baseball though, it just begins a new chapter for the program that has won more than 500 games since 1991.

MSM Conference 2020-21 All-Conference Baseball

First Team: Zach Fisher, Sr. - Pawnee; Will Jenkins, Jr. - Morrisonville; Trent Markezich, Jr. - Mt. Olive; Josh Mauney, Jr. - Lutheran; John Wolf, Jr. - Morrisonville; Cody Ellis, So. - Pawnee; Bo Largent, Sr. - Tri-City; Connor Hennemann, Sr. - Pawnee; Carter Monke, Sr. - Mt. Olive

Second Team: Parker Milligan, Jr. - Tri-City; Dominic Golitko, Sr. - Morrisonville; Luke Kratochvil, Jr. - Pawnee; Michael Jones, Sr. - Morrisonville; Kohl McAfee, So. - Lutheran; Adam Knowles, Sr. - Mt. Olive; Logan Weekly, So. - Tri-City; Landon Patton, Fr. - Tri-City; Braden Whalen, So. - Lincolnwood

Honorable Mention: Tyler Surber, Fr. - Pawnee


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here